Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen

When you were 16, what did you think your life would look like? Does it look like that? Is that a good thing?

When I turned 16, I was gearing up for my senior year of high school. And everyone knows that the senior year comes with a lot of decisions to be made. I’d applied to my top choice college and had been accepted.

(BTW, the choir that sang at President Obama’s inauguration today is from my alma mater. Proud to be an alum! Check them out here!)

At 16, I had every intention of majoring in a science with a Pre-Med emphasis with a desire to become a pediatrician. I’d calculated that, if I had gone through with that, I would be an MD at the age of 27.

Well, I’m 25 and I’m nowhere near to becoming a pediatrician. That desire and dream has passed. I majored in Biochemistry with a Pre-Med emphasis for two months before switching to a Theatre major with French minor. And that’s what I graduated with. I’m happily married and working three jobs while waiting / searching for the “right fit” for a career.

My life looks nothing like what I thought it would at 16. And I’m okay with that. If anything changed in my past, I wouldn’t bring me to where I am today.

- j

Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen at The Daily Post

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen « Code For Confession

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt; Sweet Sixteen/The Daily Post | terry1954

  3. Pingback: Sweet Sixteen… 43 Years in the Making « DragonMommie's World

Leave a Reply

